Compared to the white or colourless diamond, the world of fancy coloured diamonds is incredibly unique and exceptionally rare. Where colourless diamonds still exist in nature in a very vast abundance, the percentage of coloured diamonds manufactured globally every year is less than 1% of the rough diamonds mined around the world and that percentage is shrinking every year.

The scale used to grade the colour of colourless stones contains only different shades graded from D – Z. Fancy Coloured Diamonds are found with 12 different colours, over 90 secondary hues, 9 intensity levels, and over 200 colour combinations, making the colour of the stone the most important attribute.

A fancy coloured diamond can range in colour in a variety of:

1. Yellow
2. Orange
3. Pink
4. Blue
5. Brown (sometimes referred to as Chocolate or Champagne)
6. Black
7. Green
8. Grey
9. Chameleon
10. Purple
11. Violet
12. Red (considered the rarest)


Fancy colour diamonds are graded based on two factors. The first is their basic hue, such as yellow, orange, pink, blue, etc. The second is their intensity. Both colour characteristics form the basis for determining a fancy coloured diamond's value. Usually, the rule of thumb is that, the more intense the colour, the rarer and more expensive the diamond should be.

The diamond colour grading system expresses colour using the attributes of hue (the characteristic colour), tone (the colour’s relative lightness or darkness), and saturation (the strength or weakness of the colour). Using controlled viewing conditions and colour comparators, the grader determines the stone’s colour. The fancy grade describes the stone’s tone and saturation with romantic names like “Fancy Light,” “Fancy Intense,” and “Fancy Vivid.”

The GIA uses nine categories to grade colour diamonds.
1. Faint
2. Very Light
3. Light
4. Fancy Light
5. Fancy
6. Fancy Dark
7. Fancy Intense
8. Fancy Deep
9. Fancy Vivid